Council of University Transportation Centers

The Southern Plains Transportation Center (SPTC) is a consortium of eight universities from USDOT Region 6: The University of Oklahoma (OU is consortium lead), Oklahoma State University (OSU), Langston University (LU), University of Arkansas (UARK), The University of New Mexico (UNM), Louisiana Tech University (LTU), The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) and Texas Tech University (TTU). Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (Mumbai, India) and Shandong University (Jinan, China) are two international collaborators. LU, UTEP and UNM are Minority Institutions of Higher Education. Both OSU and OU rank consistently as the nation’s top Native American Indian bachelor degree producers in engineering. With a “sharing to gain” culture and an annual budget of $2.6 Million from the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) and dollar-for-dollar match by non-federal sources, the SPTC provides a unique opportunity to develop comprehensive, cost-effective and implementable solutions to critical infrastructure issues facing the transportation systems of the region and the nation, and to prepare transportation professionals for leadership roles in the industry.

2019 CUTC Summer Meeting

National Weather Center - Norman, OK  
June 24 to June 26, 2019

2019 CUTC Summer Meeting Presentation (PDF)

2019 CUTC Summer Meeting Program (PDF)

2019 CUTC Summer Meeting Gallery



The National Weather Center (Norman, OK):
The National Weather Center houses a unique confederation of The University of Oklahoma, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and state organizations that work together in partnership to improve understanding of events occurring in Earth’s atmosphere over a wide range of time and space scales.


Radar Innovations Laboratory (University of Oklahoma):
The Radar Innovations Laboratory is a facility dedicated to advancing OU's radar program. The laboratory includes a large microwave lab, a high-bay garage for mobile radar platforms, prototype fabrication facilities, a fully stocked machine shop, two precision anechoic chambers, an experimental observation deck, state-of-the-art classroom and seminar space, and a unique rooms for fostering collaboration and innovation.



National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum (Oklahoma City, OK):
The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum is America’s premier institution of Western history, art, and culture. Founded in 1955, the Museum collects, preserves, and exhibits an internationally renowned collection of Western art and artifacts while sponsoring dynamic educational programs to stimulate interest in the enduring legacy of the American West.

Southern Plains Transportation Center kindly thanks the organizations
below for their support of the 2019 CUTC Summer Meeting: 

ODOT blue logo.gif