Introducing Dr. Renee A. McPherson

Dr. Renee A. McPherson is Associate Professor of Geography at the University of Oklahoma (OU) and Environmental Sustainability and Director of Research for the South Central Climate Science Center. She also is an Adjunct Associate Professor of Meteorology at OU. Dr. McPherson holds a B.S. in Mathematics and B.S, M.S., and Ph.D. in Meteorology. Her research includes regional and applied climatology, mesoscale meteorology, severe local storms, land-air-vegetation interactions, surface observing systems, applied meteorology, and societal and ecological impacts of climate variability and change. She teaches classes in climatology and physical geography, advises graduate students in their research and education, and mentors undergraduate students who are interested in research opportunities. Formerly, she was State Climatologist of Oklahoma and Acting/Associate Director of the Oklahoma Climatological Survey.

Dr. McPherson oversees the Consortium-related activities of the South Central Climate Science Center, as a co-governing partner of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Activities include coordination with USGS Headquarters, our USGS Director, our Consortium (Texas Tech University, Oklahoma State University, Chickasaw Nation, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Louisiana State University, and NOAA’s Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory), the six Landscape Conservation Cooperatives within our region, and the seven other Climate Science Centers. She has been principal or co-investigator on over $40 million of grants and contracts from federal and state agencies, universities, private companies, or non-governmental organizations. Dr. McPherson is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, the American Meteorological Society, American Geophysical Union, Association of American Geographers, and the American Association of State Climatologists. She was co-recipient of the Innovations in American Government Award (Harvard University) and received the Vice President for Research Norman Campus Outstanding Research Engagement Award.