Consisting of eight consortium members, the Center's participants seek to engage in research that provides solutions for climate-related transportation challenges that include extreme temperatures, droughts, freeze-thaw cycles, and flash floods. 

The consortium members represent research universities in each state Region 6. State departments of transportation, private sector stakeholders and other partners have demonstrated expertise in addressing weather-related infrastructure issues. In addition, the SPTC enjoys access to unique resources such as the National Weather Center, NOAA’s National Severe Storms Laboratory, National Wind Institute and the Oklahoma Mesonet, West Texas Mesonet and Radar Innovations Laboratory. 

The SPTC is uniquely qualified to respond to mounting challenges related to weather extremes, bringing together transportation and weather/climate researchers to create resilient, sustainable, and climate-adaptive infrastructure for the 21st Century and beyond.


Center Leadership
The SPTC is governed by the center director and associate directors representing member consortium institutions

Advisory Board
Members of respective state departments of transportation, the Federal Highway Administration and members in both academia and industry that hold advisory roles with SPTC

Center Personnel
SPTC personnel responsible for driving Center operations from office in Norman, Oklahoma


The SPTC has brought together an experienced team of leaders, with an experienced director at the lead. Musharraf Zaman has served as the associate dean for research and graduate programs for the University of Oklahoma College of Engineering for the past eight plus years, overseeing annual research expenditures of more than $22 million. The total funding in-force at the college is more than $83 million (FY12). The SPTC also benefits immensely from experienced personnel associated with a number of university-based transportation centers; active links are provided elsewhere in this website.

The eight consortium members include:

Additionally, two international universities collaborate with the consortium: